Journey of Love, Part IV — Moving On

A Story of Love, Heartbreak, and Forgiveness

Jessica Lucia
6 min readMar 21, 2024
Photo by Maksim Goncharenok on Pexels

Moving On

May, 2010

Overwhelmed by the stack of final essays on my desk, I turned to face my friend and colleague, Dan. “I can’t keep doing this,” I said.

Dan turned from the pile of papers on his own desk. “Grade essays?” he replied.

“No. Well, yes, but no, not that,” I laughed. “I can’t keep thinking about Jason. I can’t keep hating him. It’s exhausting.”

Jason and I had been together for nearly seven years. When I found out he was cheating on me with a woman in his volleyball league named Rachel, I packed up and left, but I still hadn’t fully let go. Constantly thinking of what I lost held me back, and I had to move forward.

Dan put down his pen and wheeled his chair a little closer to me. “Ok, so what are you saying?” he asked.

“I have to forgive Jason.”

I had spent too much time and expended too much energy despising Jason and Rachel while feeling sorry for myself. In the months following the phone call that changed my life, I trashed Jason’s house, vilified him to friends and family, and burned Rachel’s underwear in a fire pit. My heartbreak consumed me. But hate had become too heavy a burden…

--

--

Jessica Lucia

Educator. Mother. Runner. Co-editor of Tell Your Story. I love the New York Mets, bridges terrify me, and I hate cottage cheese.